Edible Neighbourhood

I went for an early morning walk one day last month and noticed a plum tree around the corner. Then I saw an apple tree across the road. I remembered my neighbour’s crabapple tree. So I decided to make it a walk in search of front garden foods. Here’s what I found in various front yards within a block of my house:

neighbourhood edibles: apples

apples

neighbourhood edibles: tomatoes

tomatoes

neighbourhood edibles: strawberries

strawberries (these are ours!)

neighbourhood edibles: plums

plums

neighbourhood edibles: mulberries

mulberries

neighbourhood edibles: mint

mint

neighbourhood edibles: herb garden

our herb garden!

neighbourhood edibles: grapes

grapes

neighbourhood edibles: echinacea

echinacea

neighbourhood edibles: cranberries

cranberries

neighbourhood edibles: unripe blackberries

(unripe) blackberries

… And crabapples (the photo didn’t turn out). It’s an amazing edible neighbourhood we have around us, and I never noticed it! Thanks to Not Far From The Tree for helping open my eyes to it!

2 comments
    • Lynn said:

      I know of it but haven’t made it up there yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

