16. Get some beer… and some cleaning products

(Any True Romance fans out there?)

I’ve been using vinegar for my floors and many other cleaning needs for some time now, and I switched to Nellie’s All Natural Laundry Soda a month or so ago, but there are things like soap (we have a thing for liquid hand soap here) and stain remover (the Laundry Soda is great but for stains, you need to soak, which I don’t seem to have the time or the inclination for), and toilet bowl cleaner (I can’t get my head around just using vinegar and baking soda on the toilet) for which we need a green solution. So today I went up to Grassroots (because I read that you can get many bulk items there, including cleaning grade vinegar) in an attempt to get more green with my cleaning products.

It’s great! They sell a few different brands and much of it can be purchased in bulk (like the 25% acetic acid vinegar and cleaning grade baking soda) so I picked up some Nature Clean liquid soap, toilet bowl cleaner, and stain remover. I’m fully stocked on vinegar and baking soda but when I’m out, I know where to get it waste-free!

“What are the issues with conventional cleaning products?” you may ask. From cbc.ca:

“Many common household cleaners contain alcohol, ammonia, bleach, formaldehyde and lye, substances that can cause nausea, vomiting, inflammation and burning of the eyes and throat.

Environmentalists have linked these ingredients with neurological, liver and kidney damage, asthma and cancer.”

Then there’s the fact that most of this stuff (especially the bathroom cleanser) ends up in our water…

Nature clean talks a little bit about it here. They’re great because they offer full disclosure of ingredients, while most cleaning products hide behind the “trade secret” cloak.

As for the beer, that’ll have to be another day…

5 comments
  1. I Shudder at the thought of what’s inside CLR, let alone use it in a coffee pot it has been suggested

  2. Lynn said:

    Oh, me, too! I can’t believe the non-disclosure of ingredients policy that we have…

  3. Don’t ask, don’t tell. Isn’t that the way a lot of them work? scary thought huh?

  4. Hiya! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice information
    you will have here on this post. I can be coming back to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

