Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s Canadian Thanksgiving today. We had our family feast last night and it was excellent. We started with organic roasted butternut squash soup with apple and Brie (from A Year of the Best – those ladies from the Best of Bridge cookbooks). 

The main course included local farmer’s market roasted potatoes and parsnips, green beans, and a grain-fed free range turkey. Yes, I realize that free range doesn’t mean much more than the fact that there is a door open out to the outside, which may be a field or it may be a gravel pen, but it’s better than nothing, I guess.

My eldest son and I picked it up on Saturday (6.5 km round trip) on bike (with a cooler bag in the back of the bike trailer). Last year, I would have driven – not even considered riding (well, I didn’t have a bike back then but I might have briefly considered taking the TTC, then hopped in the car). Lifestyle changes are happening here, and I couldn’t be happier.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

