Seasonal recipe: recent suppers

So I ended up making a soup with the remaining celeriac/celery root. A friend in Holland sent me a simple recipe for a “Knolselderij Soep” (onion, celeriac/knolselderij, chicken stock, chicken, salt, pepper) but I jazzed it up a little because… well, I’m like that. Truly the best foods I’ve eaten have the least ingredients in them but I couldn’t resist. Besides, I feel like if there’s one thing that can be meat-free, it’s soup. It was pretty darn good for a first go. Here’s the first-try recipe:

1-2 tbsp butter, 1/2 onion, 1 leek, 1 celeriac, 1 potato, 5 or 6 cups stock (I used the frozen turkey stock from Thanksgiving), bay leaf, 1/2 cup white wine, salt, pepper, 1/2 cup cream, fresh tarragon

Sauté diced onion and leek in butter until soft, add peeled and diced celeriac, potato, stock, bay leaf. Boil, then simmer (add wine now) until veggies are soft, about 15 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste. Remove bay leaf, add cream, and blend with a stick blender (or pour into blender). Serve with chopped fresh tarragon. Yum.

Also, I was thinking tonight as I prepared a seemingly humdrum dinner of burgers and chips about how well we eat and how dinners out and take-out are always a disappointment. The buns were homemade (thanks to a husband who bakes bread regularly and takes our requests for other delicious baked goods as well). The burger meat is lean (and I do mean lean. While we were away this summer I had to buy meat from the grocery store and I bought “lean” ground beef once and it was seriously fatty, and extremely disappointing to the palate), naturally raised, and comes locally from Beef Connections, farmers from whom we buy directly. The garnishes of tomato and lettuce are fresh, organic and local from our CSA Plan B Organic Farm. The chips (fries) were oven baked from fresh local Plan B organic potatoes. It was delicious, and so much better quality food than what we were eating 5 or 10 years ago.

It’s a blessing and a curse. Whenever we eat out (when I just can’t face the kitchen again) it’s nearly always a disappointment. Actually, one of the places that we sometimes go to is our local pub (I seem to be more forgiving with pub grub), where they serve Kerr Farms beef (naturally/traditionally raised) and I noticed that they have a large bin out back where they collect their used chip fat for use by a poultry farm. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

