Seasonal recipes: winter

We are still getting lots of beets from our CSA, so I figured I’ll share another favourite beet recipe, which comes from epicurious.com. It’s their delicious Roasted Beet Soup with Creme Fraiche. Try it. It rocks. (The kids don’t love it, but we just don’t care.)

We also get a lot of sweet potatoes in our CSA in winter, and we love sweet potato chocolate chip muffins, as well as this Roasted Sweet Potato and Garlic Soup from Food.com (at least I think it’s from there. I got it from my sister-in-law).

We also get a lot of greens, and like our salads (even the boys – phew!), and Williams-Sonoma’s Cobb Salad is one of our favourites, as well as the Caesar they have in their Salad book. (Unfortunately, the one in the book is not listed in the web site’s recipes.) Another great fall and winter salad is that classic, the Waldorf salad.

And as a little bonus recipe, which we likely won’t use much anymore since we’re cutting the refined carbs down (no more white pasta and the husband finds the whole grain stuff too mealy), but is probably my favourite use for my home canned tomatoes (I use 1 pint jar when I don’t have fresh) since it’s so quick and absolutely delicious, is Williams-Sonoma’s Penna alla Vodka.  Try it. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

