Seasonal recipe: garlic scapes

Local Ontario garlic scapes

It’s garlic scape season here in Ontario. Never heard of them? They are the curling flower stalks at the top of the garlic plant (but they don’t actually flower). It is milder in flavour than the bulbs.

We get them every spring from our local organic CSA and I usually use them in stir fries or I mostly make up some garlic scape pesto (like this one) and use it on pizza with spinach and blue cheese. Sooooo good. You can also use it with fish or grilled veggies.

This year, though, I thought I’d try something different and serve them up as a side vegetable, sort of like  a stand-in for green beans. I also happened to have a gorgeous bunch of basil so I made pesto and then sautéed the chopped-to-bean-length scapes and served them up tossed in pesto. Also delicious, and my 7 year old loved them!

Sautéed garlic scapes

For more ideas, check out this site.

3 comments
  1. cskjeg said:

    Wow, I’ve never heard of these. Looks yummy! I’ll have to see if I can find some near where I live.

Leave a Reply

