Canada’s 30×30 Nature Challenge

Canada's #30x30Challenge

Have you heard of the David Suzuki Foundation’s 30×30 Nature Challenge? Well, here’s David Suzuki to tell you about it:

Honestly, this (spending 30 minutes/day in nature every day for 30 consecutive days) isn’t such a stretch for me. I go out with my kids almost every day. On one afternoon a week we head outside for 2 or 3 hours with our homeschool group, try to hike together as a family one day a weekend, we walk to the local library once or twice a week, toboggan in winter, ride bikes in summer… really, just hanging (and bringing in) the laundry out on the line 7 or so months of the year takes me 20 minutes. But some days I don’t make it outside, and I just wanted to give myself the extra push. So if I don’t have a plan to get out with the kids, I’m challenging myself to get out on my own first thing in the morning. Bike ride, yoga on the deck, walk, whatever. Maybe I’ll even try jogging again.

Today is the first day of the 30×30 Challenge and it was gorgeous out. I sent my eldest out in the morning to read his book on the back deck, and we had 2 meals and a snack outdoors as well.

#30x30Challenge day 1After lunch we rode our bikes down to the end of the beach with our homeschool group and the 17 kids played on the rocks, in the nearby playground, in the sand, and later 3 of them showed the rest of the the Morris Dance for May Day. It was great fun.

All in all, we probably spent 5 or 6 hours outdoors today, and it felt great.

Why get outside? Check out the infographic from the 30×30 Challenge below. And how about you? Never too late to join the challenge!

Leave a Reply

