30×30 Challenge: Days 18 & 19

Day 18 I woke up bright and early all ready to go for my walk/run and do yoga, but I had forgotten that I’d made a plan with a fellow homeschooling mom to meet early at the library and wait for Museum + Art Passes. (If you don’t know about these, do click on the link as it’s worth knowing!) So I got a text at 6:45am and got myself up there about half an hour later. My friend brought chairs, and I had blankets. I wore sandals, but to keep my hands busy, I brought knitting and luckily it was nearly-finished socks so I got them done and put them on my cold feet! It was a chilly morning, but we kept each other company and had some good discussions during our wee hours of outdoor child-free time.

Later I got out for an hour or two to put laundry on the line and to plant those herbs I’d bought on Tuesday. Now the trick will be keeping the boys from trampling them. The good news is that I’ve already used some of said herbs in tonight’s dinner! Today my neighbour walked by and thanked me for planting the herbs out front, joking that she knew where she’d come and do her shopping. Which is funny, but to be honest, every since I saw the TED talk on Todmorden’s Incredible Edible “dedicated to growing food locally by planting on unused land throughout the community” I’ve been wondering if that’s something we could do here. If you haven’t seen the TED talk by Pam Warhurst, it is so inspiring and very funny. I’ve put it at the bottom of this post for you. Who knows? Maybe my front yard herb garden can help get the conversation started.
(Apologies for the bad photo. It just wasn’t happening with the light yesterday.)

#30x30Challenge Day 18 herbs

This morning (Day 19) I was back on track with the early morning walk/run. Everything seems to smell great this week, especially the lilacs, which are just bursting, but also these (see below). I have no idea what they are, but if you see a large shrub or small tree with these on it, do stop to smell the flowers. They’re lovely! (And if anyone can identify them for me, please do so in the comments. Thanks!)

#30x30Challenge Day 19 smell these

I also noticed that the irises are out! Gorgeous.

#30x30Challenge Day 19 irises

And at home a bit later as I did a bit more gardening I saw that the our rhubarb (love the rhubarb. It came with the house and it dutifully comes back each year in spite of my neglect. We can usually get 2 crops from it!) is ready for harvesting!

#30x30Challenge Day 19 rhubarb

This afternoon I took the boys down via streetcar to the free Circus Festival down at Harbourfront. En route we noticed that there is a lighthouse downtown, nowhere near any water. On the way home I noticed the Nova Scotia advertising in the nearby subway station. Having just been there last year, I highly recommend a trip to the Canadian maritimes! #30x30Challenge Day 19 lighthouse

The Circus Festival was great outdoor urban fun! And it couldn’t have been a nicer day. Sunny but not too hot yet. My eldest loved the juggling math that Andrew (below) did during his performance, not to mention the performance. Good times!

#30x30Challenge Day 19 Andrew Giordano riding a 5 foot high unicycle juggling 3 flaming batons

 

I have to mention that 2/3 of the way through, and I am fully noticing when I do NOT get outside for a least a couple of hours per day. And I never would have stuck to the every-other-day early morning fitness regimen without the 30×30 Nature Challenge. So, thanks to the David Suzuki Foundation for this. It’s been great. And the blogging has encouraged me to take photos, which makes me happy. All in all, this challenge has been a great experience, and I encourage everyone to try it, even for a week. 30 minutes (or, you know, 6 hours, whatever) outside. Every day.

TED talk by Pam Warhurst: How we can eat our landscapes. Give it a watch. It is fun and truly inspiring.

Leave a Reply

